The Lies of Locke Lamora

51wH25lMQ8L

This book was described to me as having all the ingredients for a fantastic weekend.  And I was not disappointed.  Scott Lynch’s swashbuckling tale of thievery and adventure took up my entire weekend – I barely left my sofa for two days!  The Lies of Locke Lamora is set in a fantasy world incredibly well realized for a debut novel.  The world was well structured and clearly well thought through, something few fantasy worlds can achieve, and allowed a space for larger than life characters to develop   Locke Lamora is one of those “larger than life characters”, he’s the savvy brains behind a group of Gentleman Thieves that pull off the most elaborate schemes and thefts; robbing the richest of the rich blind.  After pulling off his most recent heist he draws unwanted attention from one too many important and powerful people.  What follows is his attempt to get out of a very sticky situation alive with his crew.  My one beef with this story: the resolution was a bit lack luster and I felt it didn’t do justice to the amazing first 3-quarters of the book.  That said, I cannot wait to get my hands on the next one in the series – Red Seas Under Red Skies – well done Scott Lynch!

Map of the capital city - Camorr.

Map of the capital city – Camorr.
One thought on “The Lies of Locke Lamora

Leave a Reply

