Weekend Getaway

City Lights
Urban Light at LACMA

This past weekend my roommate and I had the opportunity to visit a close friend of ours in the Los Angeles area for college.  From where we live it’s about a 4-5 hour drive and since we only had Saturday and Sunday to visit we woke up early and used the hour time difference in our favor arriving around 11 Saturday morning.  After a quick tour of the campus and lunch we headed out to checkout LA.  We ended up exploring Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) before grabbing a quick dinner at some food trucks and heading to the Santa Monica pier to sit on the beach late at night talking.  Quick note: the beach gets a little sketchy late at night but it’s still beautiful.

The next day we visited a new church in the area then went to Victoria Gardens – an outdoor mall that was packed with people!  We had to get on the road way too quickly and head back home.

These giant books were at Victoria Gardens – I have no idea why they’re there but I loved them!

It was a great mid-semester/weekend break and while I was exhausted the next day, I’m thrilled that I was able to go and spend time with my friends and explore a new city (one of my favorite activities).  Personally, the highlight of the trip was probably sitting on the beach talking – I treasure the time I have with my friends and to be able to sit on the beach, sharing life, and soak up each minute I had with them was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

