Literary Cakes

I love cake!  Marie Antoinette’s famous line – “let them eat cake” – is one of the many quotes I try to live my life by (even if she was probably referring to a cake-textured bread that was commonly consumed in France during that time… not actual cake).

There was a point in my life where I thought I was a semi-decent cake decorator.  This abruptly ended when I saw an episode of Cake Boss and the illusion shattered causing me to realize that I am, at best, a mediocre cake designer.  My cake decorating pinnacle was in high school when I created a globe cake for my Human Geography class complete with blue frosting water and green fondant.  The best thing I can say about that cake – it tasted goodish?

The following cakes are light-years more advanced than anything I could make.  Please revel in the beauty of literary-inspired cakes:

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter

A Collection of Stories by Roald DahlRoald Dahl

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
The Giving Tree

The Hungry Caterpillar by Eric CarleThe Hungry Caterpillar Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice SendakWhere the Wild Things Are

3 thoughts on “Literary Cakes

Leave a Reply

